Wednesday, June 29, 2011

The Bunny The Bear: If You Don't Have Anything Nice To Say Review

The Bunny The Bear is an American post-hardcore band from Buffalo, New York. Formed in 2008 by Matthew Tybor, also referred to as "The Bunny" hence the rabbit mask and persona he incorporates in the group. Tybor was immediately joined by Chris Hutka, known as "The Bear" whom likewise, wears a bear mask. Tybor employs screamed vocals for the band while Hutka provides clean vocals. Tybor also writes all music and lyrics for the band.The Bunny The Bear's self-titled debut album was self-distributed in 2010 and was followed up with 2011's If You Don't Have Anything Nice To Say... which was issued through Victory after their signing to the label in February 2011.

The Bunny The Bear are another metalcore-ish band that tends to focus on plenty of studio work rather than excessive instrumental pieces. Don't get me wrong this album has some great tracks, but we are coming into a generation where track melding is extremely overused. Tracks like “Aisle” showcase “The Bear’s” clean vocal talent which has some amazing pitches that will make your spine tingle. Where other tracks such as "C'est Pas Si Loin" demonstrate the strong lyrical presence that resonates frequently through the album. Instrumentally everything is solid with, aside from heavy layering effects. Regardless of the numerous electronic parts the keyboard sections also showcase some brilliance, but never really shines through on the album. After listening to the album very few tracks stand out and make me love this CD, I counted about 4.The Bunny The Bear is constantly changing their sound like a mentally insane drug addict which may throw some people off, but it’s nice to see them not limiting themselves to one sound or genre for that matter. Most of the hate for this band simply comes from people disliking Victory Records. A company once known for their renowned talent, but is now used as a musical punch line. Regardless of the record label or even critics dislike of electronics in heavier genres, The Bunny The Bear expresses talent and at the very least deserves the respect to be heard.

Track List
01. Prelude to Pregnancy
02. Aisle
03. Ocean Floor
04. C'est Pas Si Lion
05. It's a Long Way from the Esophagus to the Ovaries
06. Lust Touch Seed
07. 396.17
08. Rough Eyes
09. Sympathy for the Queen of Lies
10. Alley

 11. Path 

Article by: Larry Harris

No comments:

Post a Comment